Democracy Fellowship Fund

Help Support Independent Voices – The Victims of Putin’s War.

The Center for European Policy Analysis (CEPA) has established a fund to support year-long fellowships for highly qualified independent journalists, researchers, and activists who are no longer able to continue their work due to Putin’s war in Ukraine. The fellowships will provide a critical lifeline to support independent voices who have been forced to leave their country or face a direct threat to their lives because of their willingness and courage to write, research, and provide truthful information to educate the public.

Apply Now

Democracy Fellows will spend one year in residence at CEPA in Washington, DC. They will engage in conducting independent writing and research in their areas of expertise with the goal of providing truthful information to educate the public and policymakers in the United States and Europe. CEPA will provide all logistical support for travel as well as a stipend. CEPA has completed its initial round of applications for its Democracy Fellowship. Though the application is closed, CEPA welcomes expressions of interest for future rounds of the applications, please fill out this form if you would like to receive further information. For questions, please email careers@cepa.org.

Democracy Fellows

Elina Beketova

Democracy Fellow
Read Bio

Ivan Fomin

Democracy Fellow
Read Bio

Olya Korbut

Democracy Fellow
Read Bio

Oleksandr Moskalenko

Democracy Fellow
Read Bio

Support Now

Help Support Ukrainian Voices

Providing a lifeline to Ukrainian journalists & researchers

Support Now
Help Support Independent Russian Voices

Supporting independent Russian activists & researchers

Support Now

Current supporters for the Democracy Fellowship Fund include:

  • The Addy Foundation
  • Kim Gordon Davis and Judith N. Davis
  • Ambassador Robert GelbardMember, Board of Directors, Center for European Policy Analysis
  • John & Pamela Beckert Family Foundation
  • Julius GenachowskiManaging Director, The Carlyle Group; Former Chairman, Federal Communications Commission (2009-2013)
  • Larry Hirsch, ChairmanBoard of Directors, Center for European Policy Analysis; Chairman, Highlander Partners, L.P.
  • Julia Ioffe, journalist and author at Puck, the Atlantic, Washington Post, and the New Yorker
  • Craig Newmark, Founder, Craig Newmark Philanthropies and Craigslist, Inc.
  • Elisabeth de RothschildMember, Singapore Institute of Architects and Member, Ordre des Architects, France
  • David Remnick, Editor, The New Yorker
  • Robert SwartzIndependent Director and Investor
  • George Seay, Executive Chairman, Annandale Capital
  • The U.S. Russia Foundation
  • WME

as well as:

  • David Bunker
  • Christophe Charlier
  • Irene Colthurst
  • Doug Edwards
  • Joshua Friedman
  • Richard Goranowski
  • Dave Gruenwald
  • David D Gregory
  • Alexander Guiva
  • Melissa Havilan
  • Stephen Holmes
  • Mari Kuraishi
  • Lorelei Kelly
  • Jonathan Lehmann
  • Melanie McDonald
  • Mark Medish
  • Sarah Mendelson
  • Grover Miller
  • Valerie Opipari
  • Susan Pikrallidas
  • Matthew Specter
  • Dan Vaughn
  • Boris Wertz
  • Marie Yovanovitch
  • Sarah Ziebell
  • Peter Zorin

and 82 other committed Atlanticists. If you would like to join this effort, support here or email support@cepa.org. Thank you.