CEPA’s International Leadership Council (ILC) is a high-level group of global thought leaders and decision-makers who share CEPA’s core mission of strengthening the transatlantic alliance and advise on CEPA’s strategic vision.


H.R. McMaster, Fouad and Michelle Ajami Senior Fellow; Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Lieutenant General (Ret.), United States Army; Former US National Security Advisor

Annegret Kramp-KarrenbauerFormer Minister of Defence, Federal Republic of Germany


Karan BhatiaUS Deputy Trade Representative (2005-2007); Global Head, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Google

Stephen BiegunUS Deputy Secretary of State (2019-2021); Visiting Policy PractitionerWeiser Diplomacy Center, University of Michigan

Carl BildtPrime Minister, Kingdom of Sweden (1991-1994); Minister for Foreign Affairs, Kingdom of Sweden (2006-2014); Special Envoy for the Access to COVID-19 Tools Accelerator, World Health Organization

Francis FukuyamaPolitical ScientistAuthor of “The End of History and the Last Man”Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, Stanford University

Timothy Garton AshHistorianPolitical AuthorProfessor of European Studies, Oxford University

Toomas Hendrik IlvesPresident, Republic of Estonia (2006-2016); Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Estonia (1996-1998, 1999-2002); Member of the European Parliament (2004-2006)

Matthew KaminskiEditor-in-Chief, POLITICO

David Kramer,US Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (2008-2009); Executive Director, The George W. Bush Institute

Ivan KrastevPolitical ScientistAuthorChair, Centre for Liberal Strategies

Linas LinkevičiusMinister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Lithuania (2012-2020); Minister of National Defence, Republic of Lithuania (1993-1996, 2000-2004)

Anja Manuel, Executive Director, Aspen Strategy Group and Aspen Security Forum; Co-Founder and Partner, Rice, Hadley, Gates & Manuel LLC

Zhanna NemtsovaCo-Founder, Boris Nemtsov Foundation for Freedom

Ine Eriksen SøreideMinister of Foreign Affairs, Kingdom of Norway (2017-2021); Minister of National Defense, Kingdom of Norway (2013-2017); Member of Parliament, Kingdom of Norway

Stephen Twitty, Lieutenant General (Ret.), Deputy Commander, US European Command (2018-2020); Founder, Twitty and Associates LLC

Eckart von KlaedenMember of Parliament, Federal Republic of Germany (1994-2013); Vice President and Head of External Affairs, Daimler AG