CEPA
Virtual Event

NATO Youth Summit: Securing Our Shared Future

April 28, 2022 at 7:00 am to 2:30 pm
Defense Innovation Disinformation Emerging technology Europe Hybrid Threats NATO North America Regional Security Transatlantic Defense and Security
Register

Event Overview

By: Amelia Martin

Future generations face growing security challenges – from climate change, disinformation, weapons proliferation, and humanitarian crises to emerging technologies, cyber threats, and gender discrimination. As NATO prepares to address these issues, nations and individuals will have a crucial role in shaping the security that today’s youth will inherit.

On April 28, you will have the chance to provide your input at the 2022 NATO Youth Summit, hosted by NATO and CEPA (The Center for European Policy Analysis). Entitled “Securing Our Shared Future”, this high-profile public event will bring together young leaders across Europe, North America, and beyond. They will explore the issues they see as critical to global security, with contributions from diverse and non-traditional voices - from activists and artists to tech leaders and NATO officials.

Your ideas are crucial input to the debates around NATO’s future strategy, as the Alliance prepares its new Strategic Concept, which will be agreed by NATO Heads of State and Government when they meet in Madrid in June.

Add to Calendar

Welcome: Youth Perspectives on Security 

1:00 – 1:15 p.m. CET/7:00 – 7:15 a.m. ET

MC: Lauren Speranza, Director, Transatlantic Defense and Security, Center for European Policy Analysis  

Baiba Braže, Assistant Secretary General for Public Diplomacy, NATO   

 

Opening: Setting the Scene 

1:15 – 1:45 p.m. CET/7:15 – 7:45 a.m. ET

H.E. Jens Stoltenberg, Secretary General, NATO   

Moderator: Lauren Speranza, Director, Transatlantic Defense and Security, Center for European Policy Analysis   

  

Spotlight: An Intergenerational Alliance 

1:45 – 1:50 p.m. CET/7:45 – 7:50 a.m. ET

H.E. Pedro Sánchez, President, Government of Spain 

 

Discussion: The Future of European Security 

1:50 – 2:35 p.m. CET/7:50 – 8:35 a.m. ET

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Former Minister of Defense, Federal Republic of Germany    

Gen. John Allen, President, Brookings Institution 

Dr. Alina Polyakova, President and CEO, Center for European Policy Analysis    

Capt. Thorben Pfeifer, Aide de Camp to the Director General, NATO International Military Staff 

Moderator: Amy Mackinnon, National Security and Intelligence Reporter, Foreign Policy  

 

Geolocation Challenge: Can You Spot the Lie? 

2:35 – 2:45 p.m. CET/8:35 – 8:45 a.m. ET

Lukas Andriukaitis, Associate Director, Digital Forensic Research Lab, Atlantic Council 

  

Uncovering the Truth: New Media, the Information Space, and Conflict 

2:45 – 3:15 p.m. CET/8:45 – 9:15 a.m. ET

Jessikka Aro, Journalist, YLE   

Andrea Chalupa, Journalist and Author; Writer, Mr. Jones 

Peter Pomerantsev, Author, Nothing is True and Everything is Possible; Senior Fellow, SNF Agora Institute, Johns Hopkins University 

Moderator: Edward Lucas, Senior Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis  

 

Break / How NATO Makes a Difference 

3:15 – 3:25 p.m. CET/9:15 – 9:25 a.m. ET

Messages from: 

Capt. Alexander Landry, Staff Officer (Canadian Army), NATO Allied Land Command     

Ben Hodges, Pershing Chair, Center for European Policy Analysis    

Capt. John G.L.J. Jacobs, Former Policy Advisor, Counter Hybrid Unit, Ministry of Defense of the Netherlands 

Ine Eriksen Søreide, Chair, Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defense, Parliament of Norway  

 

Discussion: The Security Implications of Climate Change 

3:25 – 4:10 p.m. CET/9:25 – 10:10 a.m. ET

Alexandria Villaseñor, Founder, Earth Uprising   

Neeshad Shafi, Co-Founder, Arab Youth Climate Movement Qatar   

Jill Duggan, Executive Director, Europe, Environmental Defense Fund   

James Appathurai, Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, NATO  

Moderator: Jeff Goodell, Author and Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone Magazine   

 

Group Simulation: Responding to Cyber Attacks 

4:10 – 4:45 p.m. CET/10:10 – 10:45 a.m. ET

Opening: Chelsey Slack, Deputy Head, Cyber Unit, NATO  

Simulation Facilitator: Jason Israel, Senior Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis 

 

Discussion: Women, Gender, and Identity in Peace and Security 

4:45 – 5:45 p.m. CET/10:45 – 11:45 a.m. ET

Opening: The Hon. Gina Ortiz Jones, Under Secretary, US Air Force  

Interviewed by: Tea, Young Ambassador, Inspiring Girls  

 

Miriam González Durántez, Founder and Chair, Inspiring Girls International; Founder, #ThisLittleGirlIsMe Campaign   

Samina Ansari, Founding Director, Avyanna Diplomacy; Senior Consultant, Vektor Consulting 

Cori Fleser, Nonresident Senior Fellow, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security, Atlantic Council  

Shiran Mlamdovsky-Somech, Vice President of Impact, D-ID, Listen to My Voice Campaign  

Irene Fellin, Special Representative for Women, Peace, and Security, NATO  

Moderator: Daria Nashat, Co-Founder, Women in Politics  

 

Break 

5:45 – 6:00 p.m. CET/11:45 – 12:00 p.m. ET

 

Spotlight: The Future Needs You 

6:00 – 6:05 p.m. CET/12:00 – 12:05 p.m. ET

The Hon. Julianne Smith, Permanent Representative of the United States to NATO   

 

Policy Pitching: Ideas from the Next Generation 

6:05 – 6:40 p.m. CET/12:05 – 12:40 p.m. ET

Max Brooks, Author, World War Z  

Elisabeth Braw, Author, God’s Spies and The Defender’s Dilemma   

Benedetta Berti-Alberti, Head of Policy Planning, Office of the Secretary General, NATO   

Tania Lațici, Policy Officer, Security and Defense Policy, European External Action Service; Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis  

Facilitator: Lauren Speranza  

 

Competition Winners: 

Katarina Kertysova, Policy Fellow, European Leadership Network 

Răzvan Foncea, Student, Babeș-Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca 

Maria Luisa Moreira, International Relations Officer, Women in International Security Portugal   

 

Gaming: Connect, Defend, and Win 

6:40 – 6:45 p.m. CET/12:40 – 12:45 p.m. ET

eSports Team, US Army  

 

Discussion: Global Competition on the Rise 

6:45 – 7:30 p.m. CET/12:45 – 1:30 p.m. ET

Didi Kirsten Tatlow, Co-Author, China’s Quest for Foreign Technology: Beyond Espionage   

Andrei Soldatov, Co-founder and Editor, Agentura.Ru; Senior Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis    

Tsiporah Fried, Senior Advisor for Prospective and Strategy to the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, French Joint Staff 

Rita Balogh, Europe Lead, International Government Affairs, Google 

Lt. Gen. Lance Landrum, Deputy Chair, NATO Military Committee 

Moderator: Alexandra Martin, Re.Think CEE Policy Fellow, German Marshall Fund of the United States 

 

Spotlight: The Importance of Values and Civic Engagement 

7:30 – 7:35 p.m. CET/1:30 – 1:35 p.m. ET

Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Leader, Democratic Belarus   

 

Discussion: At the Frontlines: Democracy, Human Rights, and Activism  

7:35 – 8:05 p.m. CET/1:35 – 2:05 p.m. ET

Olga Tokariuk, Freelance Correspondent in Kyiv; Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis  

Nathan Law, Human Rights Activist; Author, Freedom  

Mikhail Fishman, Russian Journalist and TV Presenter  

Moderator: Damon Wilson, President and CEO, National Endowment for Democracy  

 

Storytelling: A No-Fly Zone in Ukraine: Why or Why Not? 

8:05 – 8:10 p.m. CET/2:05– 2:10 p.m. ET

Ben Wheeler (D1Wheeler), Content Creator, TikTok 

 

Spotlight: Perspectives from Across the Channel 

8:10 – 8:15 p.m. CET/2:10– 2:15 p.m. ET

Rt Hon James Cleverly MP, Minister of State for Europe and North America, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, United Kingdom  

 

Showcase: NATO Innovation: Project X 

8:15 – 8:25 p.m. CET/2:15 – 2:25 p.m. ET

Daniel Hilgert, International Staff, Defense Investment Division, NATO 

Eilidh Catherine Radcliff, Teaching Assistant, Aerospace Engineering, TU Delft 

Dennis Wietse Van Eck Van der Sluijs, Security Studies Student, Leiden University 

 

Closing: Passing the Ball 

8:25 – 8:30 p.m. CET/2:25 – 2:30 p.m. ET

Mircea Geoană, Deputy Secretary General, NATO 

Related Content

Transatlantic Defense and Security
Go to Program Page
Email Sign Up
Optional subheading to live here